Dilemma, Face It

Adwan
2 min readMay 30, 2021

--

At 5.30am we stand at the top of the hill in the Mt Cook national park in New Zealand to celebrate that awesome sunrise. The photo was taken with the self-timer. Photo by Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

The playlist from Novo Amor is the perfect spice to read this piece of my story. Have you ever felt too early to grow up? Feeling the moral burden every day is always approaching. Starting from family problems that slowly take part in it, work targets in the office that always touch, and identity issues that are made absurd every second. It is necessary to underline, each individual must have their own episode, it’s funny like we are actors for the TV series that we are living in. People around us are like supporting actors for the success of this TV series so the ratings are high, hahaha ridiculous.

Soon I will see myself at 23, in a few months, it’s exciting. Yes, exciting. For me getting older there was at least one thing resolved in that span of time. Myself, yeah, from coloring my hair, shaving my hair to baldness, telling my identity to mom, getting a new job, resigning to get a new job again hahaha. So many, funny, and sometimes sad to make.

There are some moments when I feel that my life is the hardest among my other friends. I heard stories from friends about the difficulty of finding a job, problems in the office that never ended, the dilemma of romance that always came, and the process of finding identity. I’m the type who simplifies all the problems that often come up. At the age of 22, it is a very good moment of self-acceptance, a good step to take the next step. Take a deep breath, and plan targets, don’t need much, just one target, and don’t need to be grandiose, then set the time by which the target must be achieved, carry it out, and take the existing risks because believe me nothing will go smoothly. Remember, this is the TV series of your life, right?

I believe there are still so many people out there who are struggling with their problems regardless of their background. Remember, everything will be over, and don’t be happy because before you leave the world, problems will always come. For me, make the problems that come our way as something that makes us strong day by day.

So, here I am, one of many people at 22 with an identity crisis that I have managed to deal with. One statement from Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir

“It is absolutely imperative that every human being’s freedom and human rights are respected, all over the world.”

--

--

Adwan

HR professional by day, avid writer by night. Here to share insights, stories, and everything in between.