The Coffee Shop and Where It Begins

Adwan
4 min readMay 5, 2021

--

In this small space, coffee is served alone. Photo by rawkkim on Unsplash

Let’s start this story on a high note! How about playing a fun tune like Of Monsters and Men’s “Little Talks”? It’s said that music can bring stories to life, so why not give it a try? Don’t worry, if you prefer another song that’s totally fine too. You can even enjoy it while doing yoga or relaxing in bed. So, let’s get ready for what’s next!

Ah, the time has flown by so quickly during my six years in this unique city, filled with countless cherished memories. As I reflect, a charming coffee shop adorned with black ornaments comes to mind. It’s always been a lovely spot to relax and seek refuge from the bustling city, providing me with comfort every moment I spend there. To be honest, I’ve lost track of time on occasion and forgotten to head back to my flat.

The main road in that city is very popular and I’ve had the pleasure of walking on it many times. I couldn’t help but notice a particular spot, where I like to spend my time working during this pandemic. It’s hard to summarize my experience in a short story, but I’ll try my best. In my first piece of writing this year, I hope to create a positive vibe that helps balance the stress of work and personal life. I know work-life balance can be tricky, but it’s important for us to try. I’ve had my fair share of struggles with it. You wouldn’t believe the amazing stories that come out of this place. Maybe not enough for a trilogy, but still fascinating nonetheless.

Before we go any further, let me introduce myself. I’m the type of creature who loves to listen and learn from others. Unfortunately, like many of us, I’ve been struggling with the effects of COVID-19. But enough about that! Instead, let’s focus on the positives. Despite the challenges we’ve faced, we’ve been able to adapt and find new ways to connect with one another through technology. While it’s been tough being cooped up in a small space, I’ve made the best of it by exploring new distractions outside. Let’s continue our journey together and discover what else life has in store for us!

Working for the biggest startup in Asia, based in Singapore, is truly an incredible experience! Every day, I feel energized and motivated to tackle any challenge that comes my way. While I do worry about staying alert and focused, I know that with the support of my team, I can conquer anything. And speaking of support, nothing quite compares to the feeling of sipping a delicious cup of coffee, which makes me feel like a champion! Some might say it’s cliché, but for me, coffee is an essential part of my routine. Alright, enough chit-chat — time to head into the office and take on the day!

Let me describe this coffee shop to you, and trust me, it’s just delightful! The atmosphere is very homely, with a warm and welcoming ambiance that just wraps you up in comfort. The decor is masculine, but not overpowering, and it really gets your creative juices flowing. Although sometimes it can be challenging to focus on work, that’s just part of the charm. Now, let me tell you about their coffee menu. My personal recommendation is a cold cappuccino without sugar. It’s the perfect way to kickstart your day. And to make things even better, there’s a special promotion that’s only available in the morning that you won’t be able to resist. Shhh, don’t tell anyone, but it’s seriously addictive!

There was a big table in the coffee shop that can fit six people, or ten people before COVID-19. I like sitting there because interesting conversations often start from that table. I enjoy listening to people talking and the noise of the coffee shop. It’s great that everyone is different because that’s what makes the world work. I’ve learned a lot of things in this coffee shop, like how to control my emotions, when to let go, how to laugh, and even how to motivate myself. Sometimes I even feel embarrassed and my cheeks turn red.

Welcome to my blog! I’m filled with hope for the future, and I’m excited to share my thoughts with you. Being a freelance writer is truly a beautiful thing — it’s not just about making a living, but it’s also about expressing yourself and letting go of any thoughts that may be weighing on your mind. Today, I want to introduce you to some of the colorful characters that are sitting around me in this cozy coffee shop. Are you ready to dive in with me? Let’s start exploring!

--

--

Adwan

HR professional by day, avid writer by night. Here to share insights, stories, and everything in between.